A very productive day

A few new butterflies under my favourite lighting conditions

Brimstone Gonepteryx rhamni butterfly

The day that I recorded my 70th species for The Netherlands, my original goal had been a forest in the south of the country. That’s where I headed after saying goodbye to the little group of smiling photographers that had gathered around the precious Chalk-hill Blue.

Apparently all butterfly photographers were either at the site of the Chalk-hill Blue or on their way towards it, because this otherwise pretty crowded forest was void of any other naturalist. I had the place to myself and that suited me just fine.

Conditions were ideal: sunny, no wind, warm but not too hot. Along a long path I encountered one butterfly after the other. As there were many dark holes in the vegetation, I finally got the chance to shoot some butterflies against a natural black background: one of my favourite lightings conditions, although it is not to everyone’s taste.

First up is this Map (Araschnia levana)

The map araschnia levana butterfly
Canon RF 100-500 f/4.5-7.1 L IS USM   f/7.1   1/640   ISO 1000

It was followed in quick succession at the same flower group by a Gatekeeper (Pyronia tithonus)

Gatekeeper Pyronia tithonus butterfly
Canon RF 100-500 f/4.5-7.1 L IS USM   f/8   1/640   ISO 1000

A couple of hours later – I was already heading towards my car – the Red Admiral (Vanessa atalanta) presented itself in a very nice spot. Being the writer of Red Admiral Butterfly Photography Blog, I had to take this shot of course!

Red admiral Vanessa atalanta butterfly
Canon RF 100-500 f/4.5-7.1 L IS USM   f/8   1/500   ISO 400

After I had taken some refreshments at the car, I decided on one last stroll down another forest path. The effort paid off as I was able to catch a Brimstone (Gonepteryx rhamni) against a black background as well. That made four such shots in one day!

All things considered, a very productive day with very pleasing results. I drove home to my wife with a big smile on my face and a story to tell.

3 thoughts on “A very productive day”

Leave a comment